Vang Vieng to Luang Prabang……what a trip!

Posted by Julia:

So, the biggest decision of the day was establishing  a) whether or not I should get out of bed  and   b) if I was likely to make it to Luang Prabang (a 6 hour drive) in one piece without making a complete embarrassment of myself.   In the end I decided I was OK, I got bored of running between my bed and the toilet during the night so I took some ‘blockers’ and ‘anti-puke pills’ at about 4am…consequently I felt the trip was doable – no worries mate! 

We decided to splash out and pay for a mini van to make the journey from Vang Vieng to Luang Prabang as we thought it would be more comfortable than the bus.  Well, that was a bit of a mistake, there were 13 of us jammed into this old dunger of a minivan with no air-con for 6.5 hours.   What’s more, the trip was like some kind of X-Box game where we drove on an extremely windy road whilst dodging cows, buffalo, goats, chickens, roosters, pigs, small naked village children, piles of pumpkins and pot holes.    

 hmm… the chicken looks just as upset as we were! Surely the mini-van is better than a pubic bus!

 We decided the trip between Vang Vieng and Luang Prabang would equate to a 6.5 hour version of the NZ Rimatakas (that’s 6.5 hours of constant twists and turns, steep cliffs and pretty scenery).   The trip required a stomach of steel, especially as we had to stop twice when the little boy behind us vomited all over his father.   We both managed to arrive in Luang Prabang without spewing once (it was touch and go for most of the trip).   I only think I made it because I kept the blockers and anti-puke pills topped up and didn’t dare to eat or drink anything all day!           

Having said that, the first thing I did on arrival at the hostel in Luang Prabang was to push Megan out of the way and make a run for the loo where I chundered up the last little bit of stomach lining that was left from the previous evenings efforts.   Nice…  needless to say, I spent the next 48 hours in bed!   L     

Ps: Big thank you to Megan for looking after me

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

1 thought on “Vang Vieng to Luang Prabang……what a trip!”

Leave a Reply

