A trip to the Pak Ou Caves and a waterfall

Posted by Megan:

We booked a day excursion to see two of the local sights – Pak Ou Caves and the Kuang Si waterfall. Julia was still feeling a bit below average and the trip started out a little slowly with us waiting for an hour early in the morning to get a boat up the river. Julia ended up piking and staying behind but my curiosity got the better of me and I persevered.  I wish I hadn’t bothered. An extremely boring 2 hour slow boat trip up the river to the most underwhelming caves so far and whats more I was stuck talking to an Aussie guy in his 50s with a mullet for the whole morning.  I wasn’t happy.  The most exciting thing I saw was this chicken:

 The most exciting thing I saw all day!

On my late return Julia bribed me with chocolate and we headed to Kuang Si Waterfall with a picnic lunch. I forced Julia to climb to the top of the waterfall with me – quite a hairy walk up steps through the waterfall itself. We walked around the park and had a look at the bear rescue centre and a tiger.

The waterfall Kuang Si Steps

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

Leave a Reply

