The second week at school

It is my 2nd week at school and I am starting to get into the swing of things.   I can already see a difference in the kids as they get used to me, they are definitely less shy this week (in fact some are outright boisterous) and they are starting to speak English with me more.  As I ride my bike to school I get lots of ‘hellos’ and ‘good mornings’.   In fact, before 8am I am sure I say ‘Good Morning’ at least 30 times!  It’s all good fun and it’s so good to see the kids getting more confident to use their English, even if it is just a ‘Good Morning Teacher’!   

This week we have had a few special days so I haven’t spent a lot of time in the classroom.   On Tuesday we had a morning where all the teachers went to a function to farewell the old sub-director.   And on Thursday and Friday the school is closed for teachers only days… the teachers had meetings on Thursday and I think they had parent teacher interviews on Friday.    
 

Tuesday was interesting.  After the flag ceremony at school all of the teachers except ‘Hunter’ (aka Kruu To) got in cars and went to a small school in a small village about 20-30mins drive away.   The sub-director of our school is leaving to be the director of this little country school.    So all the teachers in our school (except poor hunter who had to look after 800 kids by himself) and many other teachers from other schools in the area met to wish the sub-director good luck in his new job.  The open hall/meeting area was decked out with tables, we were seated and spent the morning chatting, eating, drinking fizzy drink and listening to speeches.   A spiritual leader (not a lady monk but not a priest either) came, everyone tied white cotton around the wrists of the outgoing director and the incoming director (our ex sub-director) of the school.  We all had a big feed and then at about 1pm went back to school.    Here are some photos:

Dodging cows on the way to the ceremony  The ceremony Me wishing the new director good luck in his new job  Lunch Lunch Kids and the icecream man

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

Leave a Reply

