Crazy things at the market…

I went to the market in Bou Yai with some teachers at school and I got the opportunity to sample some of the local delicacies that can be found in Thai markets:

  Scorpian for dinner anyone? Kentucky Fried Bugs

I didn’t eat the scorpion but I did try a fried baby cricket.  It wasn’t as bad as I expected, it tasted like a garlicky chip….having said that, I was disgusted by the fact a little leg got stuck in my teeth so I doubt I will be eating fried crickets again in a hurry!
We also had a wander around the market and had some noodles for dinner (I picked out the bits of intestine, lumps of blood and chunks of liver).  I fed a baby elephant, watched our school team play volleyball, quickly checked out some Chinese opera and had a wander around the fair.  There is a special festival on at Bou Yai at the moment so the little town comes alive in the evenings.  

Me feeding the baby elephant at the market Chinese Soap Opera Group Photo

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

One thought on “Crazy things at the market…”

Leave a Reply

