Loy Krathong Festival

Loy Krathong is a festival that happens in Thailand on the 12th lunar full moon.  Friends and families get together to launch a Krathong into the river for good luck and to worship the goddess of water.    I haven’t explained this well so if you are interested check out :  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loy_Krathong
It was Loy Krathong on Saturday, so I went to my host sister’s school to help her class with their entry in the ‘best Krathong’ competition.   It took us most of the morning but I was impressed at how well the class worked together….  Here are some photos of the work in progress and the finished Krathong:

Work in progress Work in progress Finished

And some of the other entries:

Other entries Some of the other entries 
Then in the evening I went to Bou Yai with my host sister (Bang), my host grandmother and niece (Wan) to launch a little Krathong in a large pond (there are no rivers in this area).      

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

1 thought on “Loy Krathong Festival”

Leave a Reply

