The end of another week at school

Well, it’s the end of another week of school.   When I first arrived and was walking around the school grounds the kids would stare and giggle.  After a few days they would yell out ‘hello’, this changed to ‘Good Morning’ and ‘Bye’ and now they sometimes ask me ‘Where are you going?’     This must be progress!!!  

I am enjoying teaching and have found it is quite easy being an English teacher if you keep it simple.  I tried to play a few new games this week but it was impossible for me to get the instructions across to the kids as they were too complex and the language barrier was too high.  I couldn’t even get them to play ‘Simon says’ as they are so used to copying/repeating they didn’t get the concept that I didn’t want them to copy me if I did not say ‘Simon says’!!!    Mai pen rai (never mind), I used my failed attempt of Simon says as a ‘learning by doing’ exercise.  

This is a photo of my ‘Superman’ lesson.   I get the students into 3 or 4 groups, each group has to race to write sentances with the word ‘Superman’ in it.  After 10mins or so, we correct the sentances and I award points to each team.  The winning team got 3 stickers each for thier sticker chart (stickers are great motivation for my students).

Superman game

Here are some photos of my ‘weather lesson’ – I taught the youngest kids in the school (12-13yrs old) some weather vocabulary and then we sang and danced to ‘The Weather Song’.   Afterwards the students made me and the Thai teacher sing and dance!  It was hilarious – the kids loved to see their Thai teacher dance.

My lovely artwork! My weather lesson My weather lesson - the kids doing the actions to the song The kids made us dance at the end of the lesson!!!
Here are some photos of the kids at the flag ceremony.  Every morning at 8am they meet to pay their respects to the king and sing the school song.  then they have a school assembly and listen to the director or the teachers for 15-20mins.  

 The morning flag ceremony Flag ceremony

Here are some random photos (me and some teachers at school, kids playing a game at school and the view from the English room (our sort of office):Some of the teachers at school  Some of the younger kids playing a game  The view from the english room   

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

Leave a Reply

