A visit to the ‘Hill Tribe market’ in Chiang Dao

I read in the wonderful lonely planet that… “It is worth coming into town to see the colourful Tuesday morning market, when hill tribes come to sell their wares.”

So I suggested to the group that we do a day trip and drive a few to see the market and check out the Chiang Dao caves.   I was expecting to see some people wearing their traditional clothes selling traditional handy crafts and maybe some silver jewelry.

WELL…  unless there is a whole load of factories up in the hills I think the lonely planet is mistaken.   This market is like any other market in rural Thailand and is certainly NOT worth coming into town for! 
Check it out:

Luckily the Chiang Dao caves are close to the market and are worth a visit otherwise I would have had a vanload of family members mad at me for making them get up at 6.30am! 

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

Leave a Reply

