The Samutprakarn Sauna

I arrived safely in Bangkok despite some VERY scary turbulence over Australia where I thought the plane might actually break in two! I was a bit worried about problems on arrival due to the lack of visa and an outward ticket … but the woman at customs flipped through my passport and stamped me in without a worry. Eek… my poor passport is looking dodgier and dodgier by the day with all the Asian stamps!

Anyways… Life in Samutprakarn is fine… It’s hot, raining a lot (like a sauna) and I am working from home so my tan has not improved one iota. Oh well, I will have to wait for India before I work on my tan. Hmm… I am not sure how that will work given I have been told to cover up in India to avoid being continually harassed by Indian men who think all western women are up for it.

So, I’m starting to get a mix of emotions about my upcoming trip… I am VERY very excited and a tad nervous. I’ve travelled by myself before but only for a couple of weeks at a time… I’m expecting a few ‘character building’ experiences and am really hoping I won’t be harassed and ripped off too much. Eeek… it is exciting stuff!

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

Leave a Reply

