A pretty rough start…

I made it to Nepal!  Hooray…  The journey has begun!  To be honest it’s been off to a pretty rough start… 

While in Bangkok I thought it would be a good idea to get my eyebrows waxed just before going to the airport.  Well… that was a freakn disaster.   Seriously, I cried.  They are that bad, the woman butchered them and my eyebrow is still sore 24hrs later.   I’m going to have to grow them out and deal with a mono brow for a while before finding somewhere good (aka very expensive) in India to get them fixed up.

To make it worse the woman took 40 mins and by the time they got someone else to try and fix them up I was running VERY late for the plane.  So late I thought I would miss it.  But the gods of Royal Nepal Airlines were shining on me, little did I know that this airline is known for being unreliable… So the flight scheduled for 1.30 was delayed till 4pm, then 6pm… then we left at 7.30pm.   

I got the privilege of sitting next to a group of smelly men one of which who took his shoes off to add to the stink and then stared at me the whole way.   It was horrible, they told me to bring ear plugs – nose plugs would have been a better idea.

Oh, to make that flight even better – the plane was about 100 years old (ok, slight exaggeration) and I was sitting by the emergency exit door which wasn’t shut properly.  I spent the whole flight waiting for it to tear open, suck me out and splatter me on to Mt Everest or something.    I really shouldn’t have watched ‘how not to die’ last week.

So I have arrived… spent the day being harassed by trekking guides and wandering around a bit disorientated.   AND I have already been scammed – I knew what was going on and when I out witted him the little bugger nicked $10usd from me… Grrr…    You live and learn.  

I did score a free lunch though from one of the touts wanting me to book an overpriced tour, he took me to a Nepalese place and I had my first meal sans cutlery…  I can still smell the curry on my fingers… give me a spoon any day!

So…  I’ve got a few days before meeting my tour group, I’m thinking getting out of Katmandu and into the country side is a good idea.   Watch this space… I will post photos in the next few days…   I just wanted to let you know I got here ok.

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

8 thoughts on “A pretty rough start…”

  1. Hi my little travelling kiwi!
    Just wanted to let you know that after how many million times you have begged me to look at your blog, here I am! I am very impressed! As with everything you do – you’ve done it very well!
    I hope your trip gets easier than the rough start – although, it’s never the easy things you remember, is it?
    This is the second time I’ve written this as I didn’t fill in all the boxes correctly – I told you I’m a technological dud!!
    Fingers crossed it works this time.
    Lots of love and hugs and kisses!
    xox
    Clare

  2. Yay you’re in one piece! You’ll be fine. If they annoy you tell them to look out for the fluffy elephant and then run in the other direction.

  3. Hi guys – thanks for your comments! Its so good to know that people are reading this thing… and CLARE I am sooooo happy you finally looked at it! I promise the next blog entry will be more interesting and have lots of photos!
    Miss you both lots and lots xxxx J

  4. you rock sis, take care, love you lots and can’t wait to see you soon!!! be safe and have fun and get over to londontown soon!!!!! xoxoxoxox mike =)

  5. Hey girl, I realise how stressed you are when you havent used the “dont scam me Im nuts’ tool that we have provided you. Put on the SD companions, announce loudly the SD curse while doing the SD lunge. It will work wonders, guarantee a good price, return of stolen goods and offers of marriage. (the latter of which you can choose to ignore!)!! 🙂

  6. he he…. Mandy – While your suggestion is very helpful…. I think that will be a good way for me to spend the next 3 months locked in a mental institution!! Hope you and the other real SD Wgtn Buddies are a-ok in Weli… missing you all lots!

    Mozie – thanks for the msg, yep – i am sure I will eventually get over to London – murpheys law it will prob be just as you are leaving for NZ!!

  7. Hi Julia Poolia!
    I’m supposed to be writing reports – urgh! So, just a quick note to say ‘hi’ and ‘ow’ – that eyebrow looks super sore!!! Take care of yourself. It looks like fun?!
    xox
    Clare

  8. Thanks Clare… it scabbed and then fell off (not my eyebrow, the scab)… it seems to be ok now but they are taking a LONG time to grow back!!! Hope you managed to finish your reports… I will try and call you soon on Skype (when I find an internet cafe with an ok connection). Miss you lots. xxx J

Leave a Reply

