Chilling in Nagarkot – hoping to see some mountains

Yesterday I made my way up to Nagarkot by local bus.  I was the only westerner on the bus so the stare factor was pretty high.  The bus ride was lovely until it broke and I had to walk the rest of the way up the hill with all my gear (which weighs way too much!).

Nagarkot is a lovely little tourist town somewhere in the hills of the Kathmundu Valley.  People come to see the spectacular views and seeing as I am not going trekking it seemed appropriate for me to at least make an effort to look at the mountains!       

It was pretty cloudy when I arrived so I planned to get up early and walk to a lookout to catch sunrise and see the mountains before they get all clouded up again… well, that idea turned to poo poo, I got to see early morning mist and that’s about it!!   Bother!

The trip wasn’t all wasted; I hung out at a really cool hotel/guesthouse called “Hotel at the end of the universe” (love the name) and met some really cool people.    I managed to get some chill out time and rejuvenate before heading back to Katmandu!

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

Leave a Reply

