Burning Ghats of Paguputinath

While in Kathmundu we also went to Paguputinath, a place where the local people go to cremate the dead along the banks of the river.  It was pretty full on – but the whole concept was interesting it was kind of hard for me to get my head around.   What I found the most difficult was the presence of tourists, I really didn’t feel very comfortable there and while our group kept a respectful distance I did notice some tourists getting very close to take photos of the burning bodies/cremation ceremony.   I couldn’t believe it, the local people are grieving their dead and the tourists have the audacity to intrude on the funeral…. So rude.   Sometimes I hate being a tourist!

Is the single photo I took (descretly from a distance) to try and show you what its like at a Ghat in Nepal/India:

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

Leave a Reply

