Visiting the birthplace of Buddha

Shoot… I am marjorly hung over… again…  that is it, no more.  I declare the rest of this trip alcohol free!  

This morning was a travel day, I am sure the journey would have been very interesting but I was too ill to even look out the window.   To make things worse, I found out today that the group of German tourists who were staying at our hotel in Kathmundu were in a plane crash and all of them died… Far out, not good news – its pretty horrible, they were about to trek to Everest base camp… I can still picture them in the hotel lobby getting ready to go to the airport.      

So I was pretty quiet in the car, I listened to ‘Hamish and Andy’ (a podcast from an Australian radio show) to cheer me up (these guys are hilarious) and listened to my new favourite CD  Neutral Milk Hotel (thanks Kathy for the new sounds).    

We arrived in Lumbini at around lunchtime and after a small lunch (of water and a banana, not quite ready for a proper meal yet) I had a nap and then went for a walk into town.   The Lumbini complex is pretty big and I didn’t have much time before having to be back at the hotel to do a tour of it with the rest of the group.   

Lumbini is the place where Buddha was born and is an important place for Buddist pilgrims to visit.  Seeing as Buddhism is probably the religion I can identify with the most, I really enjoyed visiting this place.  We didn’t have time to see everything which was disappointing, but I managed to see the main complex, the flame of peace and a few temples.   While walking around I picked up a little dog friend… he walked with me for 15 mins or so and then sat with me to watch the sunset!

Here are some pics:

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

Leave a Reply

