The ‘real’ price of food in India

I went to the market today to get some bits for an omlette….  I have to say I love living in India…. It is so cheap if you do things the local way.   For example today I bought 6 eggs, 1 capsicum, 2 tomatoes and a bunch of coriander  – this cost me 35 ruppees (about $1 nzd).     

I also bought 2 fun size snickers bars (sm)… they also cost me 35 rupees!     

How crazy is that…  clearly fresh (healthy) produce is the way to go over here!!!

Yep – that is the great thing about the area where I am studying yoga is they haven’t caught on to the idea that the rest of India has a tendency to charge westerners A LOT more than the locals.    So this means when I go to the market I pay local prices, the restaurants are cheap and the food is amazingly good… it’s fantastic!

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

Leave a Reply

