Yoga… so much more than just another form of exercise

I skipped morning class because I needed to eat solids before attempting class.   I had plain boiled rice, a couple of coconuts and some fruit. 

When I turned up for the evening back bending class my yoga teacher smiled this morning and said to me   ‘yes, that was to be expected’.   The dude is either a clairvoyant or has neglected to tell me the details of the whole intensive yoga experience!!!      Bloody Nora… what have I got myself into!?!

Seriously though – I think what has happened is I’ve gone from doing no yoga for years and minimal exercise for the last 2 months to doing two 1hr 45min classes of yoga a day.   It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to work out my body is going through a transition phase.    

I will confess I thought yoga was just another form of exercise….   Well, I have learnt the hard way that yoga is a lot more than just exercise.   It’s a way to open your body up, get the juices flowing, massage the internal organs, gain flexibility, gain strength and calm the mind.     I think between the yoga and the massage a whole load of toxins have been released and my body had a hissy fit last night trying to get rid of them….   better out than in….  I am feeling a lot better now after my ‘little episode’ than before.

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

Leave a Reply

