An Update

I stopped updating the blog daily because I realised that everyday is pretty much the same over here with slight variations.   This doesn’t lead to overly exciting reading.    I will try and start posting more photos over the next week for your view pleasure… nb: easier said than done as the PCs at my local internet cafe are 100 years old and are veeeeery sloow!

So… yoga update:

The last few days have been pretty good.  My guts have FINALLY sorted themselves out and while  I still have a few episodes of feeling dizzy in the morning class – I am generally feeling a lot better.   Hooray, this makes me happy.    

I am still sleeping really badly though as I am waking 5-6 times in the night to go loo and drink water (I get stupidly thirsty at night).   I am hoping this is a temporary phase because it is really annoying.   I am starting to wonder if something is being activated during back bending OR perhaps (more likely) its caused by the change of breathing through my nose during the day (I  always used to breath through my mouth) and then breathing through my mouth at night (old habits die hard).

The morning classes are going well.  I am still finding them  tiring but I am managing to do the whole kibosh (minus a few moves in the middle because I don’t know how to do them properly).   I’m still working on my headstand, still miles off but really hoping to do at least one proper one before I leave Mysore.

Back bending is still fantastic… I am REALLY going to miss this class when I go home.   I am working on two poses at the mo… back bending on the knees where you drop back and then grab your feet, then somehow (I think) you rest your head on your feet (I’m not there yet).      The other one I am trying is going up onto a upward bow/wheel then moving your hands back you do something (I think grab your ankles)… I had my first attempt at this one so I am a while away (about 20-25cm) from grabbing my ankles.

I couldnt find a picture of back bending on the knees but here is what a wheel/upwards bow looks like:

upward bow
upward bow

Other than yoga – life is good.   Gia and Jennifer have gone to Goa – this is a bit of a bummer (for me) as I really miss hanging out with them.  Jennifer comes back on the 3rd Jan for some more yoga but Gia will go back to Oz after Goa.   This means I have new neighbors…  2 more yoga students (a couple) from Isreal…. I think they will be living next door for 2 weeks and then Jennifer will move in.   

Er…  I have paused my cooking lessons in an attempt to watch my funds and practice what I have learnt so far.   I had my first attempt of making a lentil salad and rice rotis tonight…  it was not an overly fantastic outcome.    All I can say – thank goodness I make a good bowl of porridge!     

The rotis disintegrated when I cooked them and both salad and roti were screaming for chutney…. But I couldn’t make chutney because I don’t have a blender.      So I ended up having a couple of rice rotis and a bowl of porridge for dinner!   Will eat the lentil salad for lunch tomorrow.

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

1 thought on “An Update”

Leave a Reply

