Yoga photos

Jeanne (Charlies partner) was taking photos of Charlie during his last back bending class and took a few sneaky shots of me – she makes a great paparatzi!      It was really freaky to see myself in the back bending poses… being upside down is really disorienting so you don’t really have much of an idea what you look like!   

These are the two poses I was talking about in this blog entry.

Here are the photos [big thanks to Jeanne for taking them]:

The upwards bow
The upwards bow
Vinnay helping me reach my feet after I bent back on my knees
Vinnay helping me reach my feet after I bent back on my knees
The final pose... once I was there it was actually really relaxing!
The final pose... once I was there it was actually really relaxing!

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

12 thoughts on “Yoga photos”

  1. Hi Julia, I just wanted to delurk to say how inspirational I’ve found your yoga posts over the last few weeks. If it weren’t for Hamish I’d be selling up and heading over there as well. I really envy your back bends as they’re something I find particularly difficult. My lower back is a concerete wall!

    Looking forward to hearing more about your adventures once the camp is over.

  2. Relaxing is all in the eye of the beholder, and this beholder thinks it’s amazing that you can get into that poss. But I also think there is no way that that can ever be relaxing!!! Oh and you are looking great!

  3. Hey Julz,
    When you come to my side of the continent, you will have to show me your moves! Ha Ha, I’ll probably break something!!!! You look great and relaxed. Enjoy the next two weeks.
    Where are you off to after yoga?

  4. Hello,
    This is totally random but I am a traveller currently in Mysore, doing some internet research on options for stuyding yoga here in Mysore. After hearing about Prana Vashya yoga, I googled it and your blog came up! I am leaving mysore tomorrow or the next day (we are on a cycle tour of south india), but are planning on returning to Mysore for a month or so of yoga in March. Would you recommend studying with Vinay (we are both relative beginners with some yoga experience)? Did you find your accomodation through Vinay? Any other info or tips would be great, feel free to email me if you have a chance.
    Thanks!

  5. Hi Tanya… I would definitely 100% recommend Vinay. He is a fantastic teacher and I have enjoyed all of the classes I have done with him. He’s starting to get rather popular though, so it might pay to get in touch with him before you arrive in Mysore [having said that I think it will be quiet in Mysore in March so you will probably have no problems getting a spot in a class or a place to live].

    One of the best things about Vinay’s classes are that they are small (12 people max) and he is very good at managing people of mixed abilities. He gets to know your strengths and weaknesses and works around that. He is great! I had done nearly no yoga prior to learning with him and found his teaching style (and yoga style) fantastic… its hard work, but it’s worth it! I’ve come a long way in such a short time.

    For more information about his philosophy and style of yoga check out http://www.pranavashya.com I will also email you his contact details separately.

    Vinay arranged my accomidation and its great. 4000 ruppees a month and it has a little mini-kitchen. Its very basic but its perfect for me. There is even a balcony area I can use to sunbathe It might be available when you get here – I will email you some more info.

    Ok – I think that covers your questions – enjoy your cycle tour (I’m going to check out your blog now) and good luck for the yoga!

  6. ha ha… yeah.. I like it. I think these benders are healthier for me! Its been a while since Ive been on an alcoholic bender – having said that, I had my first glass of wine in 6 weeks the other day…. oh, so good!!!

  7. Miss J!
    I knew you were in India but goodness gracious, I didn’t know what you’d been up to! How cool are you? The yoga poses look amazing… you’ve inspired me to put this on my list of things to do (well, you and the book ‘Eat, Pray, Love, but the author of that annoyed me most of the time).
    Awesome dude!

  8. hey guys – just wanted to say a big thank you to you all for your comments on this post. Its really cool to think I might have provided a bit of inspiration for others. : ) If you are considering trying yoga… DO IT! It is the best thing ever, I am feeling so good… inside and out.

  9. Hi Ju, amazing amazing amazing – wow looks like you have really come far – can’t believe how flexible you are in those photos!!! Could you have imagined yourself in those positions a couple of months ago?!!! Fantastic! By the way – still waiting for the photos in the S.K.D!!! Please upload! By the way when are you back in NZ?
    Debs

Leave a Reply

