The intensive yoga course begins

Tomorrow I start my intensive yoga course with Vinay Kumar. Vinay teaches Pranavashya yoga (website), it is quite an energetic/strong style of yoga that utilises the breath to get the most out of the practice. Pranavashya Yoga is a fairly new style of yoga that Vinay has developed so India is really the only place I can study it, this is rather convenient because I really like travelling to India!

I first studied with Vinay as an absolute beginner last year, so the purpose of this trip is to build on what I learnt last year and hopefully develop a good self practice I can do at home. I’ve signed up for the intensive course again, so this means my days for the next month will be as follows:

  • At about 5.30am get woken by the sounds of the call to prayer at the various mosques/temples in the area. I get up, have a bucket shower, have a gentle stretch and then walk to class.
  • Class starts around 7am, we have 1hr 45min -2hrs of Pranyavashya yoga. This is followed by about 40mins of Pranyama (breathing meditation/exercises).
  • I get a big break in the middle of the day to relax and do little chores.
  • At 5pm I go back to the yoga shala for a backbending yoga class which usually last another 1hr45. I love backbending, it’s quite different to the morning class, it’s more relaxed and we get to do lots of back bends which I really enjoy.
  • After class a group of us usually go for dinner at a local restaurant, then after filling up with curry I head home and get ready to do it all again the next day.

So this routine generally happens 6 days of the week. We get Saturdays off to rest, and we get ‘moon days’ off too, this is when there is a new or full moon (something about the energy from the moon not being right for yoga).

The only glitch in my plan is my dodgy hip, I injured it a few months ago and it’s been very painful since. So I am going to have to work around that. Vinay seems to be confident that it’s going to be ok, I am not so sure. I will just have be patient and see how it goes. I am sure it will be fine.

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

Leave a Reply

