Merry Christmas from INDIA!

Once again, it’s another ‘Merry Christmas’ from India. I hope everyone is having a lovely day with friends and/or family where ever you are. I worked out today that it has been about 8 years since I have spent Christmas in New Zealand, I think next year I’d like to spend it at home. Today I am thinking of my family, scattered around the world.

Christmas in India is nice though, it’s very non-Christmassy…. almost like any other day but there is something a little bit special in the air. It looks like it is a public holiday today, everyone seems to be in a semi-festive mood and the women are wearing the most beautiful saris. What I like about Christmas in India is that there is no overkill of Christmas consumerism. In fact – there is very little Christmas paraphernalia at all, I haven’t seen a Christmas decoration or heard a carol since I left Singapore airport. I did however spot a Christmas cake in Nilgeries (our local supermarket) and I will confess I did buy some for pudding tonight!

So today started like any other day… I boiled some water for my hot bucket shower, I opened the few wee gifts from Kiran and Tony (thanks guys), walked to yoga class, said hello to a few random people (and a few cows too), I did my yoga class and then had pranyama. Then a group of us went to the Mahesh (our local restaurant) for breakfast. My Christmas breakfast consisted of set dosas, grape juice and tea. I did notice the lack of champagne.

Christmas Breakfast at the Mahesh (set dosa)

So now I have some time to kill before my back bending class this evening. So I will do the internet thing, do a bit of shopping and then have a little nap. : ) As far as I am aware there are no plans for a big Christmas dinner. Having said that, it is Friday which means no class tomorrow… which means I can eat less cautiously, hooray – curry and nann for dinner tonight! Followed by a piece of Nilgeries Christmas Cake. Yum.

Merry Christmas everyone – I hope you are having a wonderful time where ever you are!

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas from INDIA!”

  1. Merry Christmas Julia! Best wishes for your course – sounds like it’s started really well.
    Take care and keep getting stronger
    Christine

Leave a Reply

