Neti Kriyas

Today after our morning classes Vinay gave us a lesson on how to do Neti Kriyas. Neti Kriyas is a method of cleaning your nose out using a little neti pot. You fill it up with luke warm salt water and then water your nose with it (the water flows in through one nostril and out the other one). I have done the neti pot thing before so it wasn’t traumatic at all (it’s actually quite nice) it was really good to learn how to do it properly so I can get the full effect.

Next week however, we are going to do another type of Kriyas, one I am not so sure about. It involves putting a plastic/rubber tube up your nose, reaching into the back of your throat to get the other end and then (I think) – you shimmy your nose clean. I don’t know if this is true, I haven’t actually been taught yet. But from what I can gather, I think it’s kind of like a pipe cleaner used to clean out your boogers (and probably do lots of wonderful stuff to your body by clearing out blockages).

I guess I will find out for sure next week…. I am trying to have an open mind about it, but it sounds terrible. Watch this space!

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

2 thoughts on “Neti Kriyas”

  1. Wow, new year, new experiences!

    Glad to read that you’re having such a good time Julia – the time is obviously passing really quickly. You’ll be so flexible and cleansed by the end of your holiday!

    1. Thanks for the comment Christine… lots of new experiences for sure. this year is going to be a great one, I can just tell. At the very least my nose will be clean!!!

Leave a Reply

