And the answer is… EGGS!

Chicken Shop.... this is why I am selective about where I order meat dishes in local resturants

Yep… Eggs.

After feeling completely worn out for a few days (see post) I worked out that I need to seriously up my protein intake. So I’ve started having omelettes for breakfast and already feel much better! My practice improved dramatically and I am feeling much happier.

It’s quite hard getting the eating right over here. We don’t finish our morning practice until 10.30. By then I am staving… I usually down a fresh coconut from my coconut man and then head to the Mahesh (the local restaurant) for some Set Dosa or Iddlys. I often have some grape juice and if I am treating myself, I will add a Vada.

  • Set Dosa – kind of a savoury pancake (made with rice flour) that comes with an oniony curry side dish, and some spicy coconut chutney. Yum.
  • Iddlys – steamed rice cake/dumpling type things which come with a tomato based side dish (kind of like a lumpy soup) and the spicy coconut chutney.
  • Vada – an optional bonus that you can order with idlys. These are what I call ‘Indian Donuts’. I am pretty sure it’s the same rice base used for the Dosa and Iddly but it is deep fried and donut shaped. Yum.

Once I have had my breakfast I then go and rest or do some jobs. I don’t usually get hungry again until around 4pm which unfortunately is too close to my evening class to eat. So, as a consequence I have been eating only twice a day. It doesn’t take a genius to work out I am not eating enough. Then, when I pondered it a little more, I realised that I am not getting much protein at all. I can’t drink milk and my local restaurant is 100% vegetarian and doesn’t serve eggs (or booze).

So, my mission in my last few weeks is to try and eat some protein at least every two days. I’ve started eating eggs at the Mandela (a western yogi hangout) for breakfast, I don’t really like the vibe (would much rather eat at the local restaurant) but the food is pretty good. I also might try go to one of the posh hotels and eat some meat…. for reasons which are fairly obvious (I refer to the photo of a local chicken meat supplier) I need to be choosy where I order meat dishes!

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

Leave a Reply

