The attempted boob grab

Well I suppose it was only a matter of time… this evening while I was walking home a man rode his motorbike very slowly towards me, he stopped and said ‘excuse me…’, so I stopped walking to see what he wanted. While I turned around he reached out and tried (very feebly) to grab my boob! Luckily I quickly cottoned on to what was happening and quickly moved away, I was also well covered so it was difficult for him to grab me.

Some of you may remember a similar incident happened last year with a teenage boy on a bicycle. This time however I was more frightened than angry. But the man seemed harmless so I think I got a fright mostly because of other experiences that have happened to me in the past (a drugging/mugging in Belgium and a few boob grabs in India).

While this ‘attempted boob grab’ shook me up a little bit I decided to put it into it into perspective… I have seen thousands of Indian men while I’ve been in this country, hundreds of them stare, a lot of them leer, but only a handful attempt to do anything that makes me feel threatened. So really, it is not so bad. And in a way, I feel sorry for these men (and teenage boys) – they really do not know how to relate to women (especially western women). It is kind of sad.

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

2 thoughts on “The attempted boob grab”

Leave a Reply

