Bye bye Mysore… I will miss you!

Today my ‘extended’ holiday ends. For some reason (probably the acute gastroenteritis) I am more than ready to go home to New Zealand.

It’s going to be a long journey home… I have a 3-4hour drive to Bangalore, will wait a few hours there before flying to Singapore (4hrs), have to wait there for over 12hours (I may go into the city if I feel well enough), then I fly to Christchurch (10hrs), then I have to wait a bit (2hrs) then fly to Wellington (1hr). All up, door to door I expect the journey will take about 34-36hrs (starting at 4pm, so it will be a long day), not great given I am still feeling rather rubbish – but I am grateful I am well enough to go home (it could be a lot worse!).

So, my holiday was pretty much all about the yoga… it is crazy (to me) to think I have only been practicing yoga for a year. I have learnt so much in this first year and am so very grateful to Vinay Kumar who has really sparked my interest in the practice. I guess google should take some of the credit too as that is how I found Vinay! Sometimes I wonder if I had rocked up to a different yoga shala last year and studied with a different teacher if the story would be different… I really do feel lucky that things worked out the way they did!

This trip I have learnt a lot, I have also come to realise that I have so much more to learn. Last year the progress I made was very dramatic as I had never practiced yoga before (see posts Dec08-Jan09 if you are interested). This year I was more prepared for the trip and the progress was a lot more subtle. I am feeling good, my flexibility is better, my hip is 90% fixed, my pranyama has improved dramatically (to the point where I think I almost like it!) and best of all I am really curious to learn more about how yoga works. I’ve taken away a lot from this visit that I will be able to work on/play with during the year… it’s going to be a great year. I am lucky I also have a great yoga shala to go to in Wellington which also has wonderful teachers – this makes leaving Mysore so much easier!

So, farewell Mysore. I will miss you – but don’t worry, I’ll be back!

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

Leave a Reply

