Hello INDIA! (again)

After a fairly uneventful journey from Bangkok, I am back in India. This is my 3rd trip to India and once again I am here to study yoga with my teacher in Mysore. My flight got in at 11.30pm last night so I got a hotel near the airport and I am currently relaxing in Bangalore before travelling to Mysore (it is a 3-4hr journey). Its pretty cold in India at the moment but here in Bangalore it is still warmer than a NZ summer. I think its going to be a great month!

The view from my hotel room
Breakfast Indian Style

So, the plan for today is to get a driver to take me to Mysore. I’d usually prefer to take the train (more interesting), however my bags are heavy and I don’t want to risk hurting my hip before I start the yoga.

Yes, the hip…. as some of you know, a couple of years ago I tore a ligament and the labrum in my hip joint (gym accident). I had surgery in Oct 2010 and was expected to make a full recovery within 3-4 months. A year after my surgery I still hadn’t managed to get back to full activity. In October, after a series of events (incl sailing, a drunken walk home and pushing through the pain) I ended up in hospital. This put me back to square one of my recovery. Its been a few months now and I am hoping that some gentle yoga, curry, warm weather, fresh coconuts and sunshine I will be able to make some good progress on my recovery. I’d be very happy if I could get past this speed-bump and get my active lifestyle back. But, I am trying hard not to have any expectations so that I can avoid disappointment if the yoga doesn’t work out. I figure, worst case scenario if the hip doesn’t want to play the game I will have a lovely holiday in India and hang out with my international yogi friends. 🙂

Right, I better pack my bags. In the next few days I will update the blog as its been a while and I have two trips to Thailand to write about.

I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas.

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

7 thoughts on “Hello INDIA! (again)”

  1. Love reading your blog Ju! Hope u write more soon – love to hear about Mysore and the yoga and how it’s all going! And enjoy more great pics of exotic India!

  2. Hi guys…. thanks for the comments. As you can tell,I’ve been VERY slack on the blog as until recently internet access has been VERY rubbish. I will do some uploads over the next few days though.

  3. Hiya, thanks for visiting MrOh.org recently. I admire you for your dedication to travel and yoga. You are properly exploring! I’ve always wanted to go to India. My wife has been and is keen to take me one day, so I will be checking out your blog in more detail to learn more. BTW, big fan of NZ, I lived in Cambridge, North Island for a year. Stay well. Namaste 🙂

  4. Can you please email me at musciotto@gmail.com
    Vinay Kumar donated a book by Bishnu Charan Ghosh to Google Books and now I can read it online (MANY THANKS TO YOUR YOGA TEACHER FOR THIS). But I also want to buy a copy of the book if that is possible, can you tell me how I can contact him? Does he speak English or will I need an interpreter? Any help/response is greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

