Who needs power anyway?

As soon as I arrived in Mysore we had a power outage. This is very normal at this time of year and is something I love about Mysore. I love how the city keeps running and how people take power-cuts in their stride. We had an outage yesterday from 9am-5pm and the shops and restaurants stayed open, no one was particularly bothered. Everything was so normal, I forgot about the outage and tried to use the ATM! I guess this is the bonus of cooking with gas and being a cash based society (luckily I had backup cash). A few places have generators but many don’t. My place didn’t even have running water which mystified me, I guess getting the water to the 2nd floor relies on a pump.

Had an all day power-cut happened in Wellington it would be absolute chaos as we rely so heavily on electricity. It would be a nice change though… pulling us away from shopping, the internet, computers and TV. Imagine that… what would we do? We’d probably play on our phones until the batteries ran out and then perhaps talk to each other. Or panic.

As India becomes more developed, I expect the power-cuts will be a thing of the past. But for now, they are still the norm.

20131221-164810.jpg

20131221-164827.jpg

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

Leave a Reply

