On the road again!

Its been a crazy couple of weeks as I pack up my belongings, give stuff away and prepare to hit the road again. This time I’ll be away for approximately 6 months and will do some gentle travel in Thailand, India and the UK. The reason why its gentle travel is because I had hip surgery in August and I’m recovering slowly, I’m still on crutches and have a long way to go with my rehabilitation. They say this surgery takes 3 months to get over the initial surgery, and then a year to full recovery but because its my second surgery on the same hip and I’ve had the hip pain for so long, I’m in the slow lane. But I have a cunning plan to get myself back in shape, and my work has given me 6 months leave without pay to focus on my health and do some travel. Here is what I have planned:

1. 4-6 weeks in Thailand – Resting and chilling out with my family.
2. 3 months in Mysore, India – Doing yoga therapy with my teacher Vinay Kumar of Prana Vashya Yoga
3. However long I have left split between Thailand and the UK, relaxing and having fun with family (including my nieces and nephew who I miss terribly).

I’m looking forward to the yoga therapy in Mysore as this is my 5th trip to study with my teacher and I’ve had great success working with him in the past. My goal is to get the strength back in my body and then use yoga long-term to manage any residual pain and maintain my health. I’m looking forward to staying put for a while and having my own place. I’m also looking forward to hanging out with my international yoga buddies who tend to visit Mysore at this time of the year.

So that’s the plan. It will be interesting to see how it pans out and I hope I can get some actual travelling in too. Its been too long!

Author: julia

I am a kiwi who likes to live and travel overseas.

One thought on “On the road again!”

Leave a Reply

